Eclectic Homeschooling

We homeschool and we are pretty eclectic about it.  Some days are very “unschoolish” and other days are more scheduled and structured.  I’m not really sure which works best.  I struggle with the idea of “unschooling” because it seems to me that my kids will not learn anything.  Yet I hesitate to have a rigid set of curriculum and expectations.  This tends to feel frustrating and tedious for everyone involved.  Eclectic seems to work for us.

Our summer schedule this year includes:

  • lots of free time
  • playing with friends
  • summer camp
  • computer time
  • reading
  • mowing the lawn
  • household chores
  • family vacation
  • me trying to figure out the best way to homeschool for the upcoming academic year

Today, one of my kids worked on string games and taught me to do the 2-person Cat’s Cradle.  Here he is demonstrating Jacob’s Ladder.

blog1

Leave a comment